Books to the Sky

the wild, wild west

Posted on: December 31, 2008

So I’m apparently going through a phase where I’m reading a lot of westerns. It’s not even a genre I thought I liked, but I suppose there’s something about all the macho men and lawlessness that’s innately appealing.

In related news, a friend of mine gave me a sack full of old category romance novels. It’s mostly contemporaries with the occasional regency thrown in for good measure, but there is a western, and the book description is a doozy:

Destiny Awaits by Suzanne Elizabeth
“Tess Harper was sure the little woman who appeared at her bedside wanted ransom from her wealthy parents. The last thing she expected was to be carted off to Kansas in the year 1885, where she found herself face-to-face with the most captivating, stubborn man she’d ever met—and two precious little girls who needed a mother.

“Rugged farmer Joseph Maguire was used to being on his own, and if Tess wanted to return home she would first have to convince Maguire to make a place in his life for his orphaned nieces. What she didn’t count on was the passion that engulfed her when Joseph took her into his arms, or the strong tug of her heart whenever she imagined leaving. Could this man, and the family, be her true destiny?”

Recap forthcoming!

1 Response to "the wild, wild west"

[…] in shockingly little given the bulk of this book takes place in 1885. Back of Book Description: Here’s the book description. Flowery Language Quotient: Medium-high. A couple of ham-fisted metaphors and off-color jokes, but […]

Leave a Reply

Books to the ceiling,
Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.
--Arnold Lobel

From the moment I picked up your book until I laid it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.
--Groucho Marx

Interested in writing for us?

We're looking for a few more people as devoted to guilty-pleasure reading as we are! Email bookssky (at) fshk (dot) net!
