Books to the Sky

high brow, low brow

Posted on: October 1, 2008

High Brow: New book! Words in Air: The Complete Correspondence between Elizabeth Bishop and Robert Lowell. Bishop is one of my favorite poets, and her story is an interesting one. She preferred the ladies, but her good friend Robert Lowell (also a gifted poet) was in love with her.

Low Brow: Dear Author explains the Alpha Male in romance novels. Actually, it’s a pretty insightful critique of a recent tendency of romance authors to try to outdo each other by making their heroes alpha-ier. (?) The bigger, brawnier, and pushier the better. (See also, Rolf.)

Leave a comment

Books to the ceiling,
Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.
--Arnold Lobel

From the moment I picked up your book until I laid it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.
--Groucho Marx

Interested in writing for us?

We're looking for a few more people as devoted to guilty-pleasure reading as we are! Email bookssky (at) fshk (dot) net!