Books to the Sky

best first lines

Posted on: July 29, 2009

Jane at Dear Author has a post up about first lines that pulled her into good romance novels. She lists a bunch. I bet you can think up some classics on your own, everything from “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” to “Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” to “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”

What are some great first lines that pulled you into a book?

1 Response to "best first lines"

The classic P&P line sucked me in – it sounded like the most boring title ever for a book, and for a long time I avoided reading it because it sounded so dull. On a rainy day, I was so bored that I decided to crack it open… and that line was staring up at me! It couldn’t be so bad, could it??

Leave a comment

Books to the ceiling,
Books to the sky,
My pile of books is a mile high.
How I love them! How I need them!
I'll have a long beard by the time I read them.
--Arnold Lobel

From the moment I picked up your book until I laid it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.
--Groucho Marx

Interested in writing for us?

We're looking for a few more people as devoted to guilty-pleasure reading as we are! Email bookssky (at) fshk (dot) net!